Euphoric Field

I HAVE NO IDEA WHY IT LOOKS LIKE THIS.

True Tears- THIS IS WHY I FUCKING HATE LOVE SHAPES or The Angriest I’ve Ever Been For 4 Hours

Posted by Digibro on March 31, 2008

[WARNING: IF YOU INTEND TO WATCH THIS SHOW, DO NOT READ]

I will start by saying that True Tears ISN’T a bad show. In fact, it has a lot of good elements, like art and stuff, but you won’t be hearing any of that in this review. This is a RANT. Because while I have an obligation to rate it decently, I can safely say I HATED True Tears.

And when it comes down to it 100% of the reason is that prior to watching it was apoiled for me that he ends up with Hiromi. LEt me tell you what this meant for me. By the end of episode 3 I had reached the point of thinking ‘this better fucking at least turn out well for Noe or I’ll be pissed.’ By episode 6 or so I was outright defensive. Unless Noe where to have a really good ending, this would be a fucking war. You see, when I’m already aware that her ending isn’t going to be the happier one,  then every hardship she goes through means another thing she may or may not be reciprocated for.

I will also say this – I don’t hold it against Shinichiro or Hiromi – they had their own little emotions or whatever and this show, unlike most of these TOTAL ASS love rhombuses was pretty realistic. It never reached the point of being Totally Overblown Bullshit. In fact, I would consider True Tears a sort of drama-lite series. It’s probably the least dramatic eroge adaption ever. And believe me, that’s not a bad thing. However, honestly, after seeing ef, such matters are superfluous since ef ruined me toward romance shows (I had thought it was temporary but I guess not.) But honestly, this isn’t getting to the issue.

I. FUCKING. LOVE. NOE. Aside from probably ranking somewhere on my Most Awesome Character Designs Ever list, she had a beautiful soul, a great personality, and what’s more she might be THE only character in ANY romance series who never did anything to make me hate them just a bit. Even in ef there were times for the girls where I got pissed at them, but not Noe. She consistently appealed to me throughout the entire show, and she gets the short end of the stick.

Oh, sure, it’s not like she died. She probably was able to find her wings some time later on, make friends, whatever, but the bottom line is that the show ends with her not being happy. Honestly? I don’t care that she isn’t with Shinichiro. He wasn’t a bad guy, but I don’t think he could’ve ever really leveled with her.  The only thing that matters is that I sat around possed off for 13 episodes and my off-pissedness was not alleiviated by the end of the show.

In the end I have a choice to like this show just a little simply for having Noe, or I can fucking loath the piece of shit for not treating her right. Whatever. I’m going to go imagine my own happy ending for her.

9 Responses to “True Tears- THIS IS WHY I FUCKING HATE LOVE SHAPES or The Angriest I’ve Ever Been For 4 Hours”

  1. Hayate said

    Fucking ay, brother. I DO hold it against Hiromi though. She was a dishonest, duplicitous whore who hardly ever stood up for herself yet still managed to be completely self-absorbed and selfish. It’s just too bad she didn’t die in that bike crash.

    Noe was a refreshing character in a stale genre and for all her independent thinking, spirit and warmth, she gets fucked over the most while Hiromi ended up with everything getting served to her on a silver platter. For all her dicking around she gets the guy and a complete magically turnaround of his mother onto her side.

    I could go on but I won’t as the more I think about it, the worse I feel for Noe (even if she was just a cartoon, I loved that girl, dammit).

  2. digitalboy said

    I don’t really want to stand up for hiromi, but I will. Everyone has complex emotions. If you ere desperately in love with someone, you’d want to clear the way to him. And even then, she tries to reserve herself a bit, she wasn’t an outright bitch about it. She was just confused.

    Like I said, I’m glad Shin ended up with her because he wouldn’t have been right for Noe, the ONLY reason I’m pissed is that Noe wasn’t reciprocated properly.

  3. Hayate said

    Noe fell in love with Shinichiro and felt confused too but you didn’t see her act like a complete jerk to everyone around her.

    No matter who ended up with who or who wasn’t suited to who, bottom line is, as a person, Noe > Hiromi.

    The way it all ends up after the show for me is Noe meets someone who appreciates all she has to offer as a person while Hiromi’s intrinsically toxic nature eventually costs her happiness in life. Wow, after coming up with that epilogue, I feel so much better about the show than I did before. Thanks!

  4. Hayate said

    Oh, and while you are standing up for Hiromi, the irony is if you type “i fucking hate hiromi” in Google, your page is number one on the list. Heh.

    Noe fans, gather and share your ideas on what happened after the show! As long as Noe ends up happy. Bonus points for Hiromi getting “nice boat”ed.

  5. my ending is that Hiromi takes her newfound understanding of life, makes a few close friends, one of whom is a writer or some other creative being who has a mindset similar to Noe’s. The two begin to work together to accomplish their dream of becoming (insert thing here) and move in together after high school (or after dropping out, whatever you prefer).

    By the way, that’s totally how my life is already XD

  6. Hayate said

    Holy crap, I’ve found a new show that is really awesome so far. Only 2 eps in and I already know who is going to end up with who. But all the guys are pretty cool and all the girls are cute and honest. The animation is sub-par already though lol can’t have everything.

    The show is Kimikiss Pure Rouge. It’s just finished so I’m sure EVERYONE has watched it except me put it is just the sort of overly sweet, fluffy romantic crap where everyone will end up happy in the end that I need as a come-down from True Tears.

    Seriously, there is like 6 female characters and 3 male characters. At the end, at least half of the girls will end up happy (probably).

  7. Eldon said

    After watching this till the end I knew that Shin would be with Hiromi because in the beginning the feelings they had for each other were real and weren’t something that had to be forced or influenced. As much as I wished there was a happier ending for Noe, there relationship was forced because of her brother. True that they indeed had feeling for each other, but they were something that was form from something that they share together.

    Noe is a very sweet girl, but in this story she had to be the one to be hurt. In a situation like this someone had to be hurt and someone dreams would become real. Noe deserved Shin’s love. She was sincere with her feeling and worked on them. She took there situation and made it into something great. Plus I think it was beautiful how they first met.

    Hiromi to me though did not deserve Shin. She did nothing but use the fact that Shin had feelings for her to initiate the relationship. She indeed loved him, but that love the anime showed that they had wasn’t something she deserved, hence why a lot of people will have a problem with it. I won’t even start about how she went on how she admired Noe’s brother and said she liked him in front of Shin.

    My Opinion on how it should have ended…

    Now Hiromi’s boyfriend, Shin’s gets ready for his dance. During the dance he starts to doubt himself and starts to forget the next move barely being able to mimic his fellow dancers. “Why am I doing something that doesn’t feel right?” He then looks up into the crowd and sees Noe’s face looking at him in amazement, holding the tissue box rooster he had made her that day. He then looks over to Hiromi watching him intently as he dances. “Why am I doing something that doesn’t feel right?” He began recalling what Noe said, For him to fly. “Can I Fly?”

    After the dance, he changes from his costume and reaches into his bag. Pulling out his sketch book he looks through at his progress. “Can I Fly?” he thinks to himself again. As he flips a page, a small red seed falls into his lap. Picking the small seed between his fingers, he remembers Noe calling them Food from the Sky to help the chickens to fly. He smile and throws the seed into the air catching it in his mouth, and darts out the changing room, rushing past Hiromi without a second glance. He finally catches Noe who was already on her way home, and grabs her hand and turns her around. “Can I fly?” he asks Noe. “If I can fly, it’ll be because you were there.” She blushes and lets out a long breath and before she was able to take another breath Shin’s lips were firmly pressed against Noe’s. “I won’t be able to fly without you. Noe.” Hiromi seeing Shin kissing Noe, begins crying and realizes her place is no longer in Shin’s heart, and walks away to her home. Noe then looks up and smiles and presses her cheek to his chest. He looks down and notices tears was running down Noe’s cheeks, and quickly catches them with his hand and wipe her eyes dry.

  8. Hayate I dropped Kimikiss after 2 eps. ef ruined it for me.

  9. Rin said

    HIROMI STINKS. PERIOD.

    Defend he all you like, shes selfish. Naturally selfish? Maybe not, but what does that matter? Everything she did, was underhanded and far from obvious. But OH I didn’t miss that shit… she’s full of bullcrap. She doesn’t even know or TRY to know Shin’ichiro – how he feels what he likes whether he succeeds or not or ANYTHING. It’s more about him being there for her. What a crock.

    She starts acting all strange because Shin’ichiro strays away from her, so she ENSURES he goes nowhere. By lying through her teeth, making up crap, enndangering herself. “Inner turmoil” W/E so that means she can trounce all over Shin’ichiro’s feelings? Pulling the “If he can’t be with me, then NOONE can have him?”

    That’s what she wanted. Until she found out that they were not related. She’s like a possessive tick, she RELIES on Shin’ichiro too damn much where she basically becomes bat-shit-crazy when anyone jepordizes the attn he gives her. SELFISH to all ends.

    Too bad Shin’ichiro is one of those servitude pushover types that’d take that shit. Noe made him happy, and knew him probably more than Hiromi did, or ever will – because she actually TRIED to get to know him… To the point where not knowing frustrated her.

    Me? If I was his ass, even though Noe is a bit different, would go with her, because dude… She’s the only one who even considers how YOU feel at all rather than their own happiness.

    And that’s why she ended up alone – because she’s THAT selfless, even if it hurts her.

    Noe >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Hiromi

    Done deal.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

